2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipients

Six Lake County Students Join the 25th Cohort of Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

Top grades, numerous extra-curricular activities, and a desire to attend college in Indiana, has earned six students the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship in Lake County, Ind. Legacy Foundation announced the 2021-22 recipients:

  • Grecia Alcantar, East Chicago Central High School
  • Nathan Faraher, Hanover Central High School
  • Eathan Faust, River Forest High School
  • Jasmin LaVine, Whiting High School
  • Emma Ramirez, Hobart High School
  • Kiersten Stowe, Merrillville High School

“This year’s recipients have a commitment to give back to their community. They are remarkable young adults and give us hope for the future,” said Legacy Foundation Scholarship Administrator Jodi Kateiva.

Each Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years of undergraduate study on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars may also participate in the Lilly Scholars Network (LSN), which connects scholars with resources and opportunities to be active leaders on their campuses and in their communities. Both the scholarship program and LSN are supported by grants from Lilly Endowment to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).

“Legacy is proud to help students across Lake County achieve their goals; we look forward to seeing the positive impact they will have on Indiana,” Kateiva said.

In nominating Lake County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholars, consideration was given to demonstrated leadership skills, service to others, and character. The volunteer scholarship review committee also selects recipients based on an essay and interview.  After the field of applicants was narrowed down, nominees were submitted to the statewide administrator of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program, ICI, for the selection of scholarship recipients.

About the Scholars

Grecia Alcantar plans to major in Sociology and possibly minor in ethnic or women’s studies. At East Chicago Central, Grecia is captain of her soccer team, a member of the unified track and field team, participates in Spanish club and part of the National Technical Honors Society.

Nathan Faraher is captain of Hanover’s school-based shooting sports team. He is also President of his Thespian Society and played in the marching band for four years. Nathan is part of the national honors society and a member of student council.

Eathan Faust plans on majoring in engineering, and obtaining a minor in environmental chemistry. He is captain of the tennis team while participating multiple academic teams: spell bowl, academic super bowl, and academia cup.

Jasmin LaVine has her own freelance graphic design business, and plans to major in graphic design and minor in theatre. At Whiting HS she is captain of the cheer team, director of Senior One Acts, and  participates in drama club.

Emma Ramirez plans to study Journalism. She is the manager for her school’s football team at Hobart HS, while also assisting in student athletic training. Emma is also a member of National Honor Society.

Kiersten Stowe is team captain of academic super bowl and quiz bowl at Merrillville HS.  She is part of the National Honors and International Thespian Society all while participating in string and jazz orchestra. She is treasurer of the French Club and is on the varsity track team. Kiersten intends on double majoring in Psychology and Economics.

Watch as Jodi surprises the 6 winners of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship!

About the LECS Program

Lilly Endowment created the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program for the 1998-1999 school year and has supported the program every year since with tuition grants totaling in excess of $439 million. More than 5,000 Indiana students have received the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship since the program’s inception.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are: 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.