Legacy Foundation awards $260,000 in scholarships

Funds are among more than $1 million in grants and scholarships awarded to local organizations and individuals this year.

Legacy Foundation announces the recipients of $260,000 in college scholarship awards for 2012.

Legacy Foundation, Lake County's leading philanthropic partner, manages 30 scholarship programs within its $40 million in assets. The foundation's scholarship committees, comprised of community volunteers, annually review applications from hundreds of high-school seniors and current college students.

"One of Legacy Foundation's most important roles is to support and encourage educational achievement," said Harry J. Vande Velde III, president and chief executive officer of Legacy Foundation. "Diverse groups of dozens of volunteers from throughout the community are engaged in selecting these worthy recipients, based on the many accomplishments of these young people and the promise they show for their college careers and beyond."

The scholarships are among nearly $1.1 million in grants and scholarships funded by Legacy Foundation during the first six months of 2012. In addition to the $260,000 in new scholarship awards, the foundation supports students currently enrolled in school with the help of $531,000 in renewable scholarships.

Also during 2012 thus far, Legacy Foundation has granted nearly $306,000 to Northwest Indiana nonprofit organizations that are improving the quality of life and educational opportunities for area residents.

For details about the many scholarships available through Legacy Foundation, visit the website at www.legacyfdn.org/scholarships.LakeCounty high-school and college students are encouraged to check the site for information about available scholarship funds.

Scholarships, 2012 recipients named by Legacy Foundation and their respective schools include:

Barbara Miller Meeker Art Scholarship: Ariana Koultourides, Munster High School

Bi-Centennial Memorial Scholarship: Guadalupe Almendarez, MortonHigh School

BP Products of North America Scholarship: April Biscocho, Andrean High School; Ana Dominguez, Munster High School

Broadway Scholarship: Jaylynn Page, Wirt-Emerson Visual & Performing Arts; April Biscocho, Andrean High School

D.J. and Rose Nidetz Scholarship: Jaclyn Gessert, Interlochen Arts Academy

Donna K. Yundt Memorial Scholarship: Courtney Myers, Lake Central High School

Dr. John Maniotes Scholarship: Kailey Kawalec, Munster High School; Marina Tipold, Hobart High School

Dr. R.T. White Scholarship: Anna Shehigian, Munster High School, Conrad Navarro, Munster High School

Fred and Louise Latshaw Scholarship: Michael Kukurugya, Crown Point High School; Gavin Mariano

Hammond Common Council Scholarships: Nicolas Kubacki, Bishop Noll High School; Lewis Burnet, Miguel Gaitan, Alyssa Miner, and Stephanie Perez, Clark High School; Jesse Diaz, Madelyn Johnston, and Cristina Lopez, Gavit High School; Josue Morales, Hector Tello, and Yvette Zither, Hammond High School; Samuel Berrios, Brock Daniels, Angel Flores, and Jacarr Washington, Morton High School.

Herbert R. Kocher Memorial Scholarship: James Staley, WhitingHigh School

John V. and George Primich Family Scholarship: Enrique Ayala, Adam Mark, Kimberly Sherwin, Amanda Szura, Christopher Zakian, and Timothy Zakian.

Joseph Trent Morrow/Urban League of Northwest Indiana Scholarship: Alexandria Artis, Thea Bowman Leadership Academy

Joshua Benjamin Cohen Memorial Scholarship: Gretchen Kohler and Conner Sunday,Valparaiso High School

June Pangburn Scholarship: Sarah Heming, Hobart High School

Kathy Lynn Hooks Memorial Scholarship: Alexa Clark, River Forest High School

Lake County Athletic Officials Association Scholarship: Kathryn Gawor, The Culver Academies; Nicholas Roach, Mt. Carmel High School

Legacy Foundation Scholarship: Matthew Binder, Hobart High School; Lauren Kiser, Merrillville High School; Tyler Munjas, Lowell High School; Jaylynn Page, Wirt-Emerson Visual & Performing Arts; James Staley, Whiting High School

Legends Scholarship: Cosetta Black, Calumet College of St. Joseph

Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship: Jackeline Fernandez, East Chicago Central High School; Cassandra Firchau, Crown Point High School; Sarah Guistolisi, Griffith High School; Taylor Hillegonds, Hanover Central High School; Tanisha Howard, West Side Leadership Academy; Desiree Swartz, River Forest High School

Nancy J. Pinnick Memorial Scholarship: Sueann Mason, River Forest High School

Patrick Lindsey Memorial Scholarship: Avery Davis, Thea Bowman Leadership Academy; Ryan Robinson, Morton High School

Roger Begnoche Scholarship: Colin Mancera, Lake Central High School

Sengupta Family Scholarship: Keertan Kini, Lake Central High School

W. James Spicer Scholarship: Jaylynn Page, Wirt-Emerson Visual and Performing Arts Academy

Webster Cornwell Memorial Scholarship: Vanria Nabors, Hammond High School

The Cara Spicer Scholarship was created this year in her memory by her family. The first recipients are: four students who will receive summer band tuition assistance through Books, Brushes, and Bands; four students who will receive art instruction and supplies through South Shore Arts; and one Wirt-Emerson Visual and Performing Art Academy student who will receive help with expenses while attending a summer program at Alvin Ailey Dance Training in New York City.