Legacy Foundation Announces 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipients

Legacy Foundation names six Lake County students as the 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

Rachel Bell, daughter of Richard and Lynn Bell; Joseph Brown, son of Drew and Carrie Brown; Jada Davis, daughter of Linda Davis; Kevin Lema, son of Miguel and Alexandra Lema; Paige Mills, daughter of Scott and Dena Remakel; and Asha Walker, daughter of Robert and Rosemarie Walker. Each will receive full-tuition for four years to the Indiana College or university of his or her choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

Rachel Bell will use her scholarship to attend Marian University and study forensic psychology.

“I hope to go to college and pursue service to others without worrying about things like loans,” Bell said. “With this scholarship, it will be possible.”

Bell graduates from Morton High School where she is founder and president of Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD), student government president, and a member of the softball team. At her church, Bell serves as a Eucharistic Minister and religious education teacher.

Lake Central High School senior, Joseph Brown, will attend Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology and study engineering. Brown is an Indiana State School Music Association gold medal winner in piano. He participates in track, jazz band, Jam Sunday School, and the Brickhouse Band.

Brown said, “Without this scholarship, I could still obtain an education, but this would allow me to have even greater opportunities to succeed.”

Jada Davis, senior at West Side leadership Academy, will attend Rose-Hulman Institute of technology and major in electrical engineering.

In school Davis is president of Engineering Club, National Honor Society and Delta GEMS Mentoring Program; captain of the varsity volleyball team and varsity softball team; and a member of the Competition Baton and Jump Rope Team.

She is a Gary City Council Student Advisor, an Indiana State Board PTA Student Advisor and an after school algebra tutor.

Whiting High School senior, Kevin Lema, will study biology in the School of Science at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis.

At Whiting High School, Lema is captain of the Academic Team, vice president of French Club and Drama Club, treasurer of National Honor Society and a member of Science Olympiad, band, choir, and cross country.

Lema participates in numerous community service and fundraising activities within the City of Whiting.

Paige Mills, a Merrillville High School senior, will attend Indiana University Bloomington to pursue a career in English.

“This scholarship means the world,” Mills said. “I would be granted the gift of education, so that I could go on to earn a Master’s degree and be able to teach others like so many influential people have taught me.”

She is treasurer of National Honor Society, historian for Key Club, and a freshman mentor. Mills is active in Socially Together and Naturally Diverse (STAND) and Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA).

Asha Walker graduates from Calumet New Tech High School and will use her scholarship to study engineering at Valparaiso University.

Walker is vice president of Drama Club and senior editor of her school’s literary arts magazine, Collage. She participates in student council, Delta GEMS, Yearbook Committee, and National Honor Society. Walker is a tutor and is active in community service.

All Lake County high schools were invited to submit an applicant for the scholarship. A total of 189 students from 24 high schools applied for the 2014 awards. Those students nominated by their high schools were evaluated based on academic performance, leadership skills, service to others, character, a written narrative, demonstrated financial need and an interview.

Then Legacy Foundation’s scholarship committee interviews the nominees and selects six students as recipients of the awards. Then the names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana for final approval. ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree-granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state and administers the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship program for Indiana’s 92 counties.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education.