Legacy Foundation Announces 2016 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

Marisa Butkiewicz of Hobart; Taylor Duffy of St. John; Noah Scibbe of Crown Point; Jacob Seay of Lake Station; Ally Szakacs of Munster; and Samanta Zapien of Whiting receive full tuition scholarships from Legacy Foundation, Lake County’s community foundation, for four years of study at the Indiana college or university of their choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

“I have specifically chosen to attend Indiana University Bloomington for their top ranked Kelley School of Business,” said Butkiewicz. “After graduation, I will return to Northwest Indiana to work. It is my dream to see Gary revitalized as a city since that is where my family is from.”

At Hobart High School Butkiewicz is a member of National Honor Society, DECA and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. She is the Senior Class Representative and participates in many leadership activities in her school and community.

Duffy will study engineering at Purdue University West Lafayette. At Lake Central High School Duffy is a member of National Honor Society, Women in Science and Engineering and marching band. She is active in the Girl Scouts of America, Hands to Heaven Puppeteers, and her church youth band.

“I have always known financial assistance to attend college would be needed,” said Duffy. “Therefore, I prioritized my academics and community involvement hoping to be a qualified candidate for an academic scholarship.”

Scibbe will study education at Indiana University Bloomington. “I have wanted to teach social studies ever since taking my United States history class because knowing the history of this country is vital for understanding why people are where they are today,” said Scibbe.

At Crown Point High School Scibbe is Head Drum Major and plays in the saxophone quartet. He is president of Thespian Society and participates in the cast and production of school musicals.

Seay plans to study Biochemistry at Purdue University West Lafayette. He is a member of band and National Honor Society at Thomas Edison Senior High School. Seay participates in volunteer activities with his church youth group.

“This scholarship will allow me to invest entirely my time and energy into my education. My ultimate goal is to obtain a PhD in Biochemistry,” said Seay.

Szakacs will study engineering at Rose Hulman Institute of Technology. Szakacs said, “Awareness of the lack of women in STEM careers needs to be addressed in this area and I plan on encouraging more local women to consider that career path.”

At Munster High School Szakacs is a member of student government, French Club, Students Against Destructive Decisions, National Honor Society and DECA. She is active in the Munster Parks and Recreation Department, Vacation Bible School and Tri Kappa events.

Zapien plans to study neuroscience at Indiana University Bloomington. Zapien said, “With this scholarship, I will be able to receive more opportunities and hopefully, one day save lives.”

She is Class President at Whiting High School, a member of National Honor Society, Science Olympiad, the Mayor’s Youth Advisory Council and the school newspaper.

“I hope to be able to receive an education like the one my parents envisioned for me sixteen years ago when they sacrificed everything to come to the United States,” said Zapien.

Over 180 students from 21 high schools in Lake County applied for the 2016 awards. Those students nominated by their high schools were evaluated based on academic performance, leadership skills, service to others, character, a written narrative, demonstrated financial need and an interview.

2016 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

Marisa Butkiewicz

Marisa Butkiewicz

Taylor Duffyh

Taylor Duffy
St. John

Noah Scibbe

Noah Scibbe
Crown Point

Jacob Seay

Jacob Seay
Lake Station

Ally Szakacs

Ally Szakacs

Samanta Zapien

Samanta Zapien